Review: Book: Spin the Dawn- Elizabeth Lim

1512783712

Title: Spin the Dawn

Series: The Blood of Stars Book 1

Author’s Name: Elizabeth Lim

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

Page Count: 397 Pages

ISBN: B07K5YP21D

Author or Book Website: https://www.elizabethlim.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Spin the Dawn

Link to Goodreads: Spin the Dawn

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: ARC

Summary of the Book:

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. I was not sure how I would feel about this book when I first started to read it, but it just pulled me in and I had to read it all in one setting. I felt like I was right there along with Maia on her journey to become the royal trailor. Those three legendary dresses had me intrigued. The materials they were made out were impressive as well. The world was so detailed I had not issues picturing it all in my head. The love story did come off a little forced and pushy at the beginning but I found that it did develop the more the story went on. It was a very magical adventure and well done debut novel.

My Rating of the Book: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s