Review: Book: Song of the Abyss- Makiia Lucier

1742852607

Title: Song of the Abyss

Series: Tower of Winds #2

Author’s Name: Makiia Lucier

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Genre: YA Romance

Page Count: 368 Pages

ISBN: 978-0544968585

Author or Book Website: http://makiialucier.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Song of the Abyss

Link to Goodreads: Song of the Abyss

Release Date: N/A

How I Got the Book: ARC

Summary of the Book:

Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.

They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin.

Never a good sign.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer.

But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna’s escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors–her captain, her countrymen–have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom.

Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. I love the description of the world and the characters in this book. I love Reyna is a fun and complex character who draws maps. She coming back from sometime away from home and her ship is attacked by slavers. She manages to get away and she hides her maps. She meet up with Levi a prince from a neighboring kingdom. She does find her way home but that is not the end for her and Levi. His brother is take by slave and there is a union between the two kings to get their people back. This was fun to read and enjoyed it.

My Rating of the Book: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s