Review: Book: Tiger Queen- Anne Sullivan

51+qQPSmeCL

Title: Tiger Queen

Series: Standalone

Author’s Name: Anne Sullivan

Publisher: Blink

Genre: YA Historical

Page Count: 336 Pages

ISBN: B07KDZ7CG4

Author or Book Website: https://anniesullivanauthor.com/

Link to Amazon purchase page: Tiger Queen

Link to Goodreads: Tiger Queen

Release Date: September 10, 2019

How I Got the Book: ARC Copy

Summary of the Book:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

My Personal Review: I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. I have to stay I was told this was a retelling, but I don’t know the original story so I am could not compare them. I did find I love the story. Kateri is a fierce, brave and bold character who wants to lead her people. She has to fight against males to earn that right since her father has no mail heir. Her kingdom is going through hard times and this her father very strict. They are dealing with a group known as the Desert Boys who are stealing water from the well. This only add to the suffering of the kingdom. It is a very interest story and darker then I assumed when I read the blurb.

My Rating of the Book: 4 1/2 Stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s